Internet Authoring Program

Presentation Layer

About The Presentation Layer

Two women in from of a wall of LCD screens.

The Presentation layer consists of technologies that organize and format data for display on a data communications device. Technologies that exist at this layer are the HyperText Markup Language (HTML), the eXtensible HyperTextMarkup Language (XHTML), the Macromedia eXtensible Markup Language (MXML), and Cascading Style Sheets (CSS).

Course Information

In order to complete the requirements for the Presentation layer you must enroll in and complete the following course:

What You'll Be Learning

The Presentation layer subjects include: formatting text, inserting images, understanding color models, creating a consistent look and feel.

  • HyperText Markup Language (HTML)
  • eXtensible HyperTextMarkup Language (XHTML)
  • Macromedia eXtensible Markup Language (MXML)
  • Cascading Style Sheets (CSS)
  • How to organize and structure content using industry best practices
  • How to use an integrated development environment (IDE) to write functional code
  • How to write CSS rules
  • How to link to external style sheets

At the Presentation layer you will get hands-on experience using the technologies developed by the organizations that are responsible for creating and maintaining the standards which make Web page presentational functions operate with consistency across Web browsers and operating system platforms. Those organizations are:

Internet Society icon.World Wide Web Consortium icon.

Industry Certifications

Microsoft Certified Professional icon.

One of the primary goals of the Internet Authoring program is to help scholars gain the knowledge and know-how to get a good paying job in the field of Information Technology. Earning an industry certification will improve your chances of being viewed as a serious candidate for an IT position in a company whose looking for knowledgeable and motivated individuals to join their team. Along with the Presentation layer knowledge and know-how, the knowledge and know-how you gain from the Foundation layer will help you to pass several of the exams that will earn you one of Microsoft's MTA certifications, including exam 98-361 Software Development Fundamentals and exam 98-363 Web Development Fundamentals.

Click on the links below to learn more about IT certifications available from Microsoft.